Where Has The Etiquette Gone?

Maybe it is just me, but it seems like I see a lack of etiquette more and more on a daily basis. I don’t just mean from a business standpoint either…it seems like it happens in our personal lives. I thought it would be a good time to share some friendly reminders.

1. Interviews: Don’t schedule an appointment to go interview with a company and then not show up or call. Not only will I never give you another chance, unless you had an amazing reason for missing, but guess what, KC is a small (big) town and HR people talk.

2. Accepting the job: Do not, and I repeat DO NOT, accept a job with a company and then not show up for your first day. You took the time to apply. We took the time to meet you. We all loved each other and you got hired and then, BOOM, you are nowhere to be found. We will be thrilled for you if you find something that is better and amazing for you, but just take 5 minutes and let us know. If you are embarrassed, leave me a voice mail at 1am, but just communicate!!! As Emily Post would say “being a no-show is unacceptable.”

3. Parties / Events: I went through this recently. We had an event and sent out many invitations and had many amazing people show up. People sent an affirmative response and then didn’t show (barring sickness of course;) people didn’t respond at all and then showed or even worse, people did not respond at all. If a person cares enough to invite you to something, care enough to respond. Think about the times you invite people to do something. Usually you are planning, buying party supplies, food, etc…without an accurate count, you have no idea what to do. I see the same thing with our company events as well. We work hard to put these events together and have to plan ahead so everyone has what they need….make sure and RSVP and then stand by your RSVP, barring accident, illness or death!

These are just the tip of the iceberg, in my frontal lobe right now …. don’t even get me started on line-cutting, inconsiderate drivers, people not taking time to spell check emails / texts / RESUMES, or worse, those people who feel it is OK to rub a pregnant woman’s belly …. Hello?

I would love any thoughts / comments anyone else has on this topic.

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in HR Advice, Jobseeker, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

