Are You Asking the Correct Questions During an Interview?

You landed the interview! Great job! Now, how can you be successful in the interview and ask the right questions?

People ask me all the time about ways to nail a job interview. It seems that “questions,” whether from the candidate or company, are always a sticking point. There are any number of sources out there to give you “good” interview questions. These tips are just my $.02 worth!

First of all, and most importantly, make sure you have questions prepared ahead of time. How you ask? Always do your homework. Check out the company’s website and learn about them. Stalk them on LinkedIn, Twitter, etc. Get a good feel for what they do and what the job is and ask questions that will help you figure out if the company, and their culture, is the right fit for you.

On to the important part…what are these question that will help you figure this all out you ask? Well, here are my top interview questions.

1. Ask for details on job responsibilities. You won’t know if this is the job, or company, for you without knowing if the job duties fit your skills.

2. Is there potential for growth in the position? This may only apply if that is the type of role you are looking for.

3. What are the challenges to the job? This is a great way to figure out if it is something you can handle.

4. What makes a person successful here? You can succeed if you don’t know what the expectations are.

5. What are the next steps? Will they get back to you? Do you need to follow-up with them?  (Always send a thank you note!)

6. Why is the job open? You want to make sure it is a position that does not have a lot of turnover.

7. Is there travel involved in the position? This may or may not be relevant depending on how you feel about travel.

8. What are the company culture values and/or work environment? Is this the kind of place you can thrive or will it stifle you and hold you back? Does everyone, from the top down, have integrity?

9. Is the company growing? For some companies, status quo is fine, but if you want to grow, than typically you want a company that is also growing.

10. How long have you been here? I love when people ask me this question. I am always happy to be open and honest about my time here.

11. What do you like/dislike about it? Again, I love my company and I think that shows through during interviews. I am happy to discuss the things that are pros and cons for me.

13. Is relocation provided? Again, this question is not relevant in all scenarios.

I hope some of these questions help you. I would love feedback from HR people about what  questions they like to be asked during interviews.

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in HR Advice, Jobseeker, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

