The World We Live in…..

So people who truly know me know that I almost never watch the news. Let’s not start the judging please……I mean how often are there “warm” stories on the news? It just doesn’t sell. I have a hormone disorder and it’s proven that in-taking sad information is not good for it. And, I do watch enough regarding politics to make an educated decision for voting purposes.

Now that we have covered that, I feel like I have to bring up this whole Chick-Fil-A thing. Yes, another person is talking it to death. Really, it isn’t even just about that, but tolerance, or lack thereof, in general.

I have had several conversations with some of my GLTB friends recently about everything surrounding this. I respect their opinions and if they had issues with what was happening, I was interested in hearing about it. Do you know what I heard from them over and over again? They realize everyone is entitled to their opinion. As a person, as a business, as a community, as people…..we can think and feel whatever we want. No one has to agree with us…but we ARE entitled to think what we want.

One of my friends posted a statement/question on facebook that really started me thinking. As you can imagine, not watching the news, I was only seeing some information here and there via facebook and Twitter and decided it was time to educate myself.

Here is his post: “I love my friends in the “gay community.” I myself love being a part of the “gay community.” I love being “gay” as much as I despise the “label.” However, I will never understand the view-point that “tolerance” can only be afforded if the person and/or group agrees with my stance and refuses to give money to people and/or groups that disagree with my stance, all the while demanding the same, if not more, “tolerance” from them. Someone PLEASE explain that to me.”

This is probably the most logical post/story/blurb I have seen related to this whole situation. We do NOT have to agree with each other. I don’t even have to like your opinion. I can like my own. That doesn’t mean I respect you any less. I feel like it’s the same as when people who call themselves “Christians” twist and turn the Bible to make it ok to do bad things to people Ala Westboro style.

Ok rant over…I guess that is why we have blogs….to say what we want and guess what….you don’t even have to agree! Ain’t freedom grand????

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

