Who Does that? This Girl!

I made airline reservations. I made hotel reservations. I even reserved transportation. However, there was one really important thing I forgot to do….make a reservation as an attendee at the #shrm12 (Society of Human Resource Management) conference.

As I was having a discussion at the airport with Kristi Jones, I realized I had not received any mail from the conference exhibitors. 1 thing I can ALWAYS count on are the marketing materials that start arriving months before the conference each year. Kristi mentioned something about settings so I assumed I clicked something asking for no mail.

After arriving in Atlanta and heading out to dinner with a colleague, it hit me, I never received a registration packet. Panic ensues….Did I not register? Did it get lost in the mail? What happens now? Is it sold out?

As I rush back to my computer to search for a registration email, it hits me….I never registered! For those of you that actually know me, this news will probably not shock you but other people were able to get a really great laugh out of it. Several of them said I should even make it a blog post. I am pretty confident it is because they wanted to have another laugh, but don’t tell them I said so.

At any rate, I was successful in procuring a spot at the conference and ended up having another amazing year of learning, networking and fun. Our keynote speakers are always great but this year the lineup was amazing; Condoleeza Rice, Tom Brokaw, Malcom Gladwell and so many others!

Well done SHRM and congrats on another successful year! I have included a few pics below from the event.

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who Does that? This Girl!

  1. Tiffany Kuehl says:

    I am so glad you were able to grab a spot for the conference! It was a great pleasure to be able to meet you in person. Don’t forget to register for SHRM13 in Chicago!

    Like

Leave a Reply

