Make your HR Career Rock!

So, you finally landed that job in HR you have been working towards. Now what? HR is such a detailed job. Payroll, benefits, labor laws, employee relations issues…and the list goes on and on.  What can you do to make your career rock and take it to the next level?

My initial thoughts are to be confident! Take control of your career and don’t be passive. And we all know I can never say this enough, but network, network, network! Twitter is a great resource for me when I want to join in an HR chat or just ask an HR question. @drivethruhr has a daily show that you can call in and join and also follow on Twitter. I learn something new from almost every radio program I hear. When I have an HR question for my fellow tweeps, I just use the hashtag #hr and almost always get a response.

You can also join your local and national SHRM organizations.

Lastly, I hit up some of the best HR people I know and here is what they had to say:

@new_resource says “take charge, ask for interesting projects, after 3 years find a new challenge. Complacency kills!”

@johnphudson shared you should always “Be humble, get to know each and every role in your organization and ask at least 20 questions a day. Also, make sure to find a mentor in and outside of #HR

“My 3 biggest things are: 1) knowing what to focus on, 2) what an HR person does on daily basis and 3) how HR proves its value says @tasinquefield

The advice that made me laugh the hardest and was also true was “Get a helmet!” from @NextJenHR. She also had this to say, “Working in HR will require you to make tough decisions that will impact someone’s life. You’ll be expected to coach managers, counsel employees, hire, fire, investigate, build programs and strategies, track leave and interpret policy. And the next morning, you’ll get up and do it all again. Educate yourself- on your industry and business. Read books, blogs and magazines. Study for the PHR. Get certified – no matter what anyone else says. Build yourself a network –locally and online. You will need it. Be the change, build structure and remember to laugh a lot. There will be plenty to laugh about. Enjoy the ride!”

Have fun and enjoy your new life in HR! It will be one hell of a time!

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make your HR Career Rock!

  1. Michael Mullady says:

    I think for me, the biggest realization when I first entered into HR (many years ago) was that people actually listened to me, and suddenly I was an “expert”. It was eye opening and scary to know how much I had to watch what I said even off hand because some people would take it as gospel.
    I do love “get a helmet” because that is so true. It is never dull and definitely fulfilling! I honestly am not sure how I made it out of my first year, but I will say it is to find a good peer and mentor that you can ask questions of, and don’t ever be afraid to ask, and not just do. That will always get you in trouble.
    Great post!
    @atlscgrad

    Like

Leave a Reply

