To baby or not to baby……

Yes, this post is almost exactly about what it sounds like…..making the decision about whether or not you want to have children…for some people, it is such an easy decision. They decide to have children, get married, or maybe they don’t, and then they get pregnant and have a happy, healthy baby.

For some people, this decision does not turn out to be so easy. They decide to have a baby and for some reason, whatever it may be, can not make it happen. For these people, life can be really tough sometimes. What do we always ask people when we meet them? “What do you do for a living?” “Are you married?” “Do you have kids?” Why are these always the socially acceptable questions to ask?

For me, the last question is the toughest. You see, I am in the 2nd group. We wanted desperately to have children and could not. On top of all the hormone pills and injections and trying on a schedule there is the craziness that ensues from the hormone pills and injections not to mention when the day finally comes and you get pregnant….only to lose the baby.

Ah, I can hear the “Oh poor girl” sighs abounding, but don’t feel sorry for me. What I have learned from all of this, and the more people I talk to with fertility problems I hear them say as well, is that things seem to work out the way they are supposed too. I have some beautiful nieces and nephews, and now even a great-niece, who I get to spoil to no end.

I get to travel when I want, spoil my family and spend as much time as I want with family and friends. So, while some days are still painful, especially when someone asks the questions I mentioned above, overall it has all worked out and I realize I have a truly amazing, Blessed life!

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To baby or not to baby……

  1. Terry says:

    For most of my adult life, I did not want kids. I have always loved kids, but just didn’t feel a parental drive. And I got a lot of grief for it…from the subtle to the outright hostile. But why the hell should I try to be something I did not want to be? That’s simply ridiculous.

    In the early days of the Internet, my then-fiancee and I met a few “support” groups…the reason I used quotes there is because some of those childfree folks could be as hostile as your standard families. It was ridiculous.

    Over the past 10 years, I’ve seen it become much more acceptable to not want kids or not have kids…those people are not freaks. I’m sorry you and your ex-husband had to go through what you did…I can only imagine the heartache and hell that must have been. But yeah…you do have an awesome life…of course, it helps that I’m in it. šŸ˜‰

    When I started dating again last year, I knew that the chances of me finding someone without kids at my age was going to be near impossible, so I opened myself up to the possibility of being a stepparent…no babies though…I’m too old for that shit. A short time later, I met a wonderful woman with an 8-year-old son that has no father in his life at all. And now, I’m a parent…and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Funny how life works out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

