Interviews, Resumes, Jobs and Lies….Oh my!

Is it just me or is there irony in the fact that I am doing a blog post about lies on the same night our President is giving the State of the Union Address?!?! No, I am not calling our President a liar at all…I just love the irony of a politician speaking while I write about lies. Maybe it’s just me, but since this is my blog, I am the only one who has to be amused, right? 🙂

As you would expect, 1 of the topics for the President this evening related to jobs. People keep hearing it is getting better and we need companies to create more jobs. Do you know there are a whole host of companies who never stopped hiring in the last several years and were in fact still growing? I would love to talk about finding those jobs and companies and did in fact in a previous post.

Today though I want to discuss the Bermuda Triangle of job hunting….doing a resume and having an interview and then deciding how much honesty you should give and landing the job.

When it comes to resume writing every recruiter will have a different format they like. The thing no one wants to see? Lies. Recently I asked some fellow HR people what the best lie was they caught on a resume. The one that made me laugh the hardest, and hopefully makes you laugh, came from @RockhillStrat What was Jon’s comment? “Someone listed General Colin Powell, Address; The Pentagon, as a reference.” I had to ask if he was kidding….I mean really, who does these things. I promise you job seekers, this will not get to the next step in the interview process.

So let’s say you had a rocking resume and made it to an interview. Don’t embellish your skills during your interview. Don’t get me wrong. The interview is the time to sell yourself, but don’t do it with lies. If you do fake it well enough to get the job, it won’t last long when you can’t actually perform the skills you were hired for. If a company is reputable, they are calling your previous employers or co-workers and they are going to learn how honest you were.

So you had the best resume, got the interview and now the company wants references. Never, under any circumstance, provide false reference letters. Guess what? We ARE checking them. Now I will concede that not all companies check your reference letters, but a lot do. I can not tell you how many times I have had to remove a candidate from consideration because their letter was fake. Don’t be that person. Be the person who has the open, honest resume and interview and gives the best references. Pick past employers or co-workers who truly know you and will say good things about your work. I don’t care what your best friend thinks about you. I care what your last boss thinks about you.

I hope you find these tips helpful. Feel free to add your thoughts below in the comments section. Together we can all get America back to work! (I know it’s cheesy but I couldn’t resist)

 

 

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interviews, Resumes, Jobs and Lies….Oh my!

  1. Pingback: Incompetent hiring causes lost revenue – Irony of the Day | The Daily Stresser

  2. George O'Sullivan says:

    I love the irony of writing this article during the State of the Union!!! There is nothing that will more quickly deter us from hiring people than embellishments on their resume. If they cannot back it up, then we would prefer not to know about it.

    Like

  3. Pingback: The WTF Interview | HR reMix

Leave a Reply

