Who Knew?

Yes I am a blog slacker. As most of you know, or if you are new here, my dad passed away this year and I’ve been trying to figure out how to get through the holiday season without him. I am so blessed to have such amazing friends and family that have helped me and been there for me through it all! Even when I melted down on Thanksgiving about not being able to make sweet potatoes just the way he did! 🙂 (Thanks Amy!)

I decided last week that I have been sad long enough. As dad would say, “Get over it.” Well now I am….Who knew just making that decision would make such a difference in my life?

I have learned in the last week that just a change in your own attitude makes such a difference. There was a lot of loss and tragedy around me last week but I tried really hard to stay positive and it really helped. I hope it also helped the people around me who were involved first hand in all the bad things happening. I think Renee would be so proud of me!

There are so many things in life to be positive about. No matter how bad it gets, there are still good things around you every day. When it gets bad, take a deep breath, talk to a friend and keep pushing through. There is always someone there for you and probably when you least expect it, but need it the most!

What are the things around you that you are thankful for? A new job? A first kiss? A new friend? A coffee delivery from a friend when you least expect it? Or just amazing friends and family to support you through it all……

 

 

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who Knew?

  1. Keri says:

    This is such a great post. That positive attitude is so hard to find sometimes. Thanks for the reminder that it’s in me….I just have to think about it and it will be there. Hope you keep writing and posting to Twitter….you’ve got a new reader!

    Like

Leave a Reply

