How NOT to Get a Job Interview

Lots of people talk about how to land the job once you have an interview, (myself included) but not a lot of people always talk about how to even get an interview.

I have been paying a bit more attention lately to some of the things my HR colleagues say on Twitter about things that annoy them in relation to interviewing people and it seems only fair that I share some of those things here for job seekers. Help yourself by helping someone else, right? I have only included what I thought were the top 10 but I am sure my colleagues will happily add some in the comments area. *Names will not be used to protect the guilty, but if you want credit, please let me know.*

  1. Know who I am when I call about your resume. This means it is up to you to keep your job search organized. (I think I just heard a collective gasp.)
  2. Stalking me via every method known to man, Ie: LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, Foursquare, etc. does not endear you to me.
  3. Showing up at our offices DEMANDING to see someone will not land you an interview…EVER.
  4. Badmouthing my company and then trying to get a job 2 weeks later with said company…not happening.
  5. Telling me when I call you about your resume you are on unemployment and you are going to “ride it out” will not get you through our doors. (Or anyone elses by the way.)
  6. Sending me a resume with an objective for a completely different job then the one you are applying.
  7. Sending a resume with typos, grammar or attention to detail mistakes. (Credit to Angela Liao for the below strip and she happens to be looking for a graphics job.)
  8. Make sure you have the skills required for the job you are interested in.
  9. Don’t include your bank account information so we can “go ahead and set up direct deposit” for when you get the job. (Shopping spree anyone?)
  10. Trying to guilt me into an interview by telling me how the company will suffer by not meeting you is not an effective strategy.

If this helps even one of you land a job, then our work here is done!

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

