Is 40 Really Over the Hill?

So in one month I turn 40. Yes, I have already heard all the jokes. A couple of years ago I was really dreading this year. Turning 40, being over the hill, black decorations, 1/2 my life over, etc…. As you know, I lost my dad this year and that really put some things into perspective for me. Why do we dread certain ages in our society? Why are we not thankful for every day of life we get?

I think when people only were living into their 70’s, 40 really did seem VERY old. Now people live to 90 and 100 so 40 isn’t even middle age anymore.

I am embracing this birthday whole-heartedly and I will now be encouraging all my friends to do the same, not just with their birthdays, but with everyday life! (Yes this means you Sara!)

How do you celebrate birthdays? Have you had changes in your life to make you realize how precious everyday life is? How do you live life differently to embrace being alive?

I choose to live it this way!

 

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is 40 Really Over the Hill?

  1. I like the valuable info you provide on your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again right here regularly.
    I am moderately sure I will be informed many new stuff proper right
    here! Best of luck for the next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

