What is Beauty?

So, I happened to catch part of the t.v. show Glee tonight. If you know me, you know it is unusual for me to even watch t.v. , let alone stay awake for an entire show, but I did. At any rate, they were talking about outer beauty and learning to love the things you hate most about you. It made me reflect on some recent shows like Extreme Makeover: Body Edition or whatever it was called. Why does everyone worry so much about their appearance? What is true beauty? Is it really superficial? Is it fashion? Is it how many material things one has?

As I started asking myself these questions, it occurred to me that my view of beauty might be really different from everyone elses…or, maybe it’s the same. Below are some things I think are beautiful. What do you think?

How about a new baby?

People serving their country?

 

The smile on a loved ones face?

 

How about nature?

Or is it holding the hand of the one you love while they slowly slip away from you?

And last, but certainly not least, true friends!!!!

Maybe one of these things will ring true for you. Maybe they won’t but think about what true beauty is to you and how you can let that shine without being superficial.

I look forward to hearing about the things you think are beauty.

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is Beauty?

  1. Mark R. says:

    What’s interesting to me is that your examples of beauty seem centered around emotion. You see your mother smile, and that triggers an emotion to you, especially in context of the overall life situation. You see sailors on a ship serving their country, and you feel a sense of pride, or maybe even awe in realizing they risk death and injury on a daily basis. You look at a baby and feel joy. Would it be safe to say that you would define beauty as that which causes strong, positive emotions?

    Like

  2. Jill Connaway says:

    Everything is beautiful if we look at it the right way. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

