10 Things I have learned in the Last 30 Days

Ok, so I have not posted in over a month. For those of you new to my blog, my dad was very sick and then passed away. I am sorry for the absence. I thought I had some guest bloggers, but that did not work out as well as I had hoped. 🙂

In the last 6 weeks I have learned a lot of things and decided this would be more of a generic post on general life and HR lessons I have learned in the last month.

1. Be kinder then necessary as you never know what burdens people are experiencing. Remember that the person who was rude to you, cut you off in traffic, etc may have just lost a loved one or maybe they just learned they are sick or a child is sick. You just never know.

2. Network, network, network! Yes, I say this often in my posts. You never know where your next connection will come from. You also never know who will become an amazing friend from that group.

3. Vegas is evil. Ok, maybe not evil but what an interesting town. I just returned from the SHRM11 (Society for Human Resource Management) conference that was held there. I am not much of a gambler, but I did learn a lot in the sessions I attended and from our keynote speakers. I learned from Tony Hsieh (@zappos), chief executive officer of Zappos.com Inc., about happiness and how it builds a great business. I learned from Arianna Huffington (@ariannahuff), that you should always take time to unplug and recharge. Above all that, I learned I can not stay out all night anymore. Man, I am just so old!! 🙂

4. Spend spare time with family and friends. It is so easy in this world of social media, texting, and phones to just keep up socially without seeing each other any more. Take time each week to enjoy the people you love.

5. Are you looking for a job? Apply often. Jobs will not just come to you by accident. Job searching is a full time job in and of itself. You have to network and send out at least 10 resumes a week. Ideally it should be more, but 10 is a good start.

6. Live each day to the fullest. No, I don’t mean go spend all your money since you can’t take it with you anyway. I mean do something nice for yourself. Have dessert before your meal. Take 20 minutes to read a book in a quiet place.

7. Remove the objective from resume or make sure it matches job you are applying for. Nothing annoys me more then to get a resume that doesn’t match the job they are wanting. If your objective says you want to be a teacher, don’t apply for my HR job. If your objective says you want to work with crazy people, maybe then we can talk. (Just kidding)

8. Keep a gratitude journal. It makes you realize how precious things are and that there are probably a lot of things great in your life. It is easy to get bogged down by things that seem overwhelming. More importantly, that is the perfect time to track the good things so you aren’t buried by the bad things. (This tip came from a company I follow on Twitter@massageenvykc) Now if they would just give me a massage.

9. When you are going in for an interview, be confident. If you do not believe in yourself, why is the recruiter, hiring manager, etc going to believe in you. Learn about the company and the job. Be prepared to answer their questions confidently and correctly.

10. Pay it forward!!! If you have not seen the movie with the same name, do it!! Try and pay it forward every week, or even better, every day. I try once a week to buy a coffee, meal, paper, something for someone else getting one at the same time. A couple of weeks ago I was out with friends and we happened to be sitting by one of our Armed Forces personnel. I was more then happy to have the waitress put his meal on my tab. Why wouldn’t we do nice things for people when giving and charity does nothing but makes us feel good.

I hope some of these things help you as they have me over the last stressful weeks. Take care and be kind to each other.

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

