Is “Unplugging” Worth It?

Tonight I said I was going to “unplug” from, well, the world. (Clearly that ended well since I am on the computer.) This prompted some funny comments from my “tweeps” on Twitter and friends on facebook. Some of the things I read were, “She doesn’t know what unplugging means” and “What is “unplug?”

The last question has had me thinking all evening. What does it mean to unplug? Does it mean different things to different people? Is it good or bad to unplug? Does it depend on why you are “plugged in” to begin with?

The more I thought about this, the more I realized that is must depend on what you are plugged into and why. In the last year I have become more and more involved in the social media world. I use it for several reasons: work, connecting with, and keeping up with, friends and sometimes even asking for advice from friends.

I realized when I said I was unplugging tonight, it meant from work and anything that might let me see bad news. For those of you that don’t know, we are going through the process of preparing for the loss of my father who has cancer and is on hospice care. I realized that I have made a lot of really great friends, both virtual and in real life, over the last year via social media. Being connected to these people has been helping me get through this tough time.

I don’t want to unplug from the things that help support me. I want to unplug from things that are sad, depressing or mind numbing. Why do you use social media; connecting, job hunting, news and if you are using it for these things, why would you need to unplug? What do you get from it? If you are using it in the right way and not letting it take over your life or using it to bully, argue or create issues with others, why unplug?

Just my $.02. What are your thoughts?

About jeangleason

I am the HR manager for a company in Overland Park. I love to travel and really love the ocean! Spending time with my family & friends is very important to me. These posts are my own and do not reflect those of my company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

